Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes.

Do you agree or disagree?

In cosmopolitan cities, individuals from various walks of life get to meet and work together. judging people based on their dressing about their personal traits and culture could be misleading. Whether this approach could help - is something that needs to be pondered on. this essay discusses this conundrum in detail.

based on the attire, people often tend to gauge other people’s culture and character. At times, this approach may be useful in business practices. An individual practising certain religion, can be prima facie identified only by their dressing. For example, people from Gulf, who follow Islam, wear traditional clothing like Abbaya and Kundura, presenting their ethnicity and religion. this may help a business traveller to the region to understand what behaviour would be proper while dealing with Arabs. Furthermore, Muslims only eat Halal products and are strictly forbidden from eating pork as per their religious texts. So, while inviting people to share a meal, one can plan appropriate place and food to please their guests.

However, as it is said “never read a book by its cover”, is also true in this context. Over reliance on people’s appearance may be misleading. people wearing darker shades of clothes are not always sombre. some people disguise their character and culture by wearing different types of clothes. To maintain demure outlook at workplaces, people wear conservative and sober clothes. Hence, the generalisation about public based on their outfits may not be right. people sometimes dress up based on the weather condition in their countries. like women and men in India wear Sarees and Dhotis because of the tropical weather of Indian subcontinent. But not all men and women dress in those attires as some don’t find them comfortable to wear.

based on the above discussion, judging people based on their garments could help some people only in certain specific situation and not always.