Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why some one should learn a foreign language. discuss these views and give your own opinion.

Globalization has led people to become multilingual. However, It is argued that foreign languages are merely learnt to move abroad or for travelling purpose. While some people think that along with these reasons, there are several other objectives to practice a non-native language. I think it is assertive, that other language skills are acquired for a number of reasons other than tourism or immigration.

To start with, it is really true that nowadays people have to learn a foreign language in order to get settled in a more developed country for their secure future, and for this, they need to have a grip on language native to that country. So, wherever he goes either for his studies or a job, he needs to communicate with the people of that specific country. For example, one of my friend who has been residing in Germany for 2 years, now has to learn the German language to find a professional job there, as previously she was working in a café, despite being well qualified.

On the contrary, there are many other causes that individuals learn a nonnative language. Firstly, there are many job opportunities available to multilingual people. For example, many multinational companies demand qualified employees who also can speak international languages as these companies operate in other countries as well, so workers who are multilingual have good pay and are mostly sent abroad for work. Also, some people who are less educated, but have powerful language skills can get a good job as a translator in news channels or as a tour guide. Secondly, practicing other languages boost confidence and communication skills, especially in children. Therefore, most of the schools now have introduced other dialects in the elementary school curriculum.

In conclusion, although external languages are practiced to make a permanent resident in a particular country or for having a short time journey, but there are also other causes that lead individuals to have a grasp on other dialects.