Some people say that television is a very useful tool when it comes to education. Others argue that television is a much overused, ineffective teacher.

Discuss both of these views and give your opinion as to the usefulness of television as an educational tool.

Nowadays, television has become an essential necessity in most homes. While some people think that television serves as an efficient tool to enhance learning, others are of the opinion that this is ineffective. This essay will discuss both points of view.

To begin, television in isolation may not be too effective as a learning aid. This is because there might not be programs that are specific to what people want to learn. For example, if a person is interested in learning the construction and function of an automotive engine, it would not be possible for him to get a program scheduled as per his requirement. Further, even with those programs appearing on television, the viewer might not necessarily get the complete content and depth of understanding that he is looking for. Thus, television has limitations with regards to the customization it can offer to different people with varying learning requirements.

Nevertheless, in my opinion, television does provide considerable opportunities for people who are looking to improve their overall general awareness as well as looking for subject- specific information. For example, viewers can check the program content online on different channels and tune into programs that are of their interest. Further, they can purchase CD's on topics of their specific need and watch them on television to gain a better understanding. The viewer has a choice to select a CD that offers him the required depth of understanding of the subject. Watching the content on a 40-inch television may keep viewers more engrossed and interested, and give them a better learning experience than looking at the content on a laptop/computer.

Additionally, programs on channels like National geographic and Discovery are quite exhaustive and provide vital information to viewers. For example, the program on analysis of aircraft disasters can actually teach viewers/students the right approach to be followed in carrying out failure investigations and performing root cause analysis.

To conclude, people being dismissive of the role of television in education is not entirely correct. To a large extent its importance as a learning aid will lie with the user and the way it is utilised. Television can certainly be an efficient tool to aid learning and enhance the overall quality of education if the right approach is adopted.