Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Presently, due to the swelling rate of criminal offenses, what measures need to taken on offenders has risen into prominence in many places around the world. However, it is a controversial topic introducing heavy debate concerns finding indelible and sustainable ways to implement on prisoners. While there has been a growing body of opinion in favor of giving the longer prison sentences, others are in consummate discord with it and argues that there are other optimal strategies to decrease crime. I wholeheartedly concur with latter viewpoint as it would be plausible to give not only shorter prison sentences but also rehabilitate criminals while in prison.

To my perception, one evident advantage to rehabilitating offenders while assigning them short prison sentences is changing their mind set for their whole life. Governments ought to train them with some skills, considering the fact that they can earn their bread after getting released from prison. A statistic was recently released demonstrating that offenders getting some vocational training neither behave in unacceptable way after serving prison nor re-offend again. Eventually, this would lead to a stable society where every member can live without the fear of being a victim. Thus, the plausibility of this strategy is crystal clear.

However, on the other hand, there is a human argument favoring long captivity periods for criminals in order to deter crime in the foreseeable future. It is claimed that it would reduce the likelihood of committing crime by same criminals when they go outside in the community. Moreover, it will set an example for the others focusing on the fact that they have to spend their entire lives in jail if they do anything wrong. Thorough research was conducted by Harvard University, UK, using online survey with a sample size of 1000 Indians spanning different age groups and found that they fear to commit crimes such as murder which has long prison sentence for criminals. Therefore, it is good way to deter people to indulge themselves in wrong doings.

Following this look, although long prison sentences can diminish the criminal activities up to some extent, I opine that it is the rehabilitation that works best for criminals as well as for the societal well-being. Hence, the essentialty of rehabilitation centers is commendable all over the world with the intention of educating offenders