Some people think that spending a lot on holding wedding parties, birthday parties and other celebrations is just a waste of money. Others, however, think that these are necessary for individuals and the society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people claim that high expenses on big celebrations such as weddings and birthdays are not worth it whereas others believe it’s indispensable for people and communities. From my point of view, money should be spend on more important purposes than parties.

Proponents of spending large amounts of money on celebrations argue that merits for people and society outweighs the drawbacks of a financial burden. It’s true that some occasions happen just once in a lifetime and spending time with a family and friends is priceless. To celebrate a birthday in an expensive restaurant around close people will leave many heartwarming memories for all. Moreover, local communities benefit from such festivities as many people are employed in entertainment businesses. For example, about 65% of an income of restaurants is proved to be from holding private services for different events.

However, some people believe that costly celebrations doesn’t worth the money spent on them . In fact, majority of people have multiple financial obligations such as mortgages and loans on top of every day expenses on food, clothes, gasoline, etc. Instead of wasting hardly earned savings on some event , the money could be spent on more practical purposes such as household appliances, education or even a new car which would be a great investment for the future and can be used for a long time. For instance, some young people spend tremendous amount of money on the wedding and later struggle to pay the first installment of mortgage for their first property.

To conclude, I acknowledge that it’s imperative to celebrate some important events of our lives as it brings people together and can be remembered for a long time. That said, I am of the opinion that the vast amount of budget should be spent on more essential goals.