Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic.

What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

The modern world as we know it is growing more and more mundane each passing day. A routine life is not something people want nowadays, they want some excitement and adventures in their existence. However, that is not possible for public who have regular jobs. These people prefer to take vacations and go to places where they can feel their adrenaline pumping. For instance The Himalaya's, Sahara desert or even Antarctica. There are a lot of places where thrill and excitement can be found.

The strenuous environment in these tourist locations is the ultimate selling point for the tourists to visit there. Sahara desert has high temperatures and scorching heat in the daytime, however the night has a freezing temperatures. Similarly, Antarctica has below lower temperatures, moreover the sun can be seen for 24 hours during summer and the same can be observed for moon during winters. Meanwhile, Himalaya's have freezing winds and lower air pressure which causes breathing problems the higher you climb.

There are several pros and cons of visiting these places, the rush of excitement that is felt when visiting such locations is a primary advantage. Secondly, It helps people in getting over their phobias. Consequently, the cons entail the dangers of pursuing such activities, such as getting a heatstroke while walking through the Sahara desert or slipping and falling from great heights while climbing the Everest.

One recent example is when I went for paragliding in Bir, Himachal Pradesh. A place famous for holding world cup for paragliding and one of the highest places in Asia for the same. We went to a height of 1300 metres above sea level and jumped from the while hanging onto the gliders, However, before jumping I was sweating and trembling due to my fear of heights. But, once I was airborne the excitement and the joy of flying was a once in a lifetime experience. The views and the scenery was breathtaking from the sky.

To summarise, different people have separate personalities and passions in life. It depends on the person's choice and what they want to do in their spare time.