Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic.

what are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, a growing number of travellers like to see places, where circumstances are extreme, such as the Sahara desert, or the Antarctic. Some of the advantages are, it provides a lifetime experience and teaches us to survive in harsh situations, whereas, the disadvantage includes adverse effects on health due to lack of readily available resources.

On the one hand, an increasing number of tourists are enjoying going to places, where less crowd or people movements occur, and these extreme places are providing this great opportunity. People like to see nature, which is yet untouched or unaltered by humans. For example, to understand nature at its best these places are preferred to carry out some scientific research as well.

In addition, visiting such places are good for a lifetime experience. We take birth once, and therefore, we should utilise our existence in capturing some beautiful and mesmerizing memories. It also adds value to our knowledge, which later on can be passed on to our children, or grandchildren. Not to forget that it teaches us to survive in hard situations.

On the other hand, roaming to such places may fall in a category of bad experiences due to the lack of readily available resources, such as drinking water, transportation, food, pleasant climate, and medication. It can also affect our health if we go without preparation for the necessities for our survival. For instance, As per an article published in the New York Times, it was revealed that around 2% of tourists have lost their lives since 2010, while in Antarctica due to extreme cold climate.

To conclude, as every coin have two sides; visiting Such unfavourable places have also some advantages and shortcomings. Advantages are, a perfect lifetime experience, and to carry some researches on nature, whereas, disadvantages are adverse effect on the health of tourists, and lack of readily available resources.