Agree or disagree? One can learn about a person from the books and movies that the person likes.

Learning about a person's personality is the most important thing to do when we first meet with others. Some people said that it is a good method to learn about a person from the books and movies that the person likes. In my opinion, I personally do not agree with this statement.

To begin with, we will not be able to understand others' actual personality if we learn from books or movies they like. To be more specific, books and movies are just some interest that people like to do. We might be able to figure out others' interest, but I do not think that we can actually know about others in depth. For example, if a person likes to read lots of books about fighting, does that means he or she is very active and always cause troubles? I really enjoy reading and watching action books and films, but the reason why I like this genre is just that I appreciate the way how actors and arthurs describe and act out these moves. I can really learn a lot from them. However, I never actually fight with someone before. As a result, I think that it is not a good idea to learn about a person from the movies or books that the person likes.

In addition, people's interest will shift over times but our fundamental personality will never change. To be more specific, people often enjoy different kinds of things at a different age. They might enjoy playing sports when they were a kid and find out that researching is extremely interesting when they grow up. However, a person's personality will never change. For example, my grandparents told me that my mom is not a patient person. She never wanted to spend any time waiting for other people. Likewise, I found out that her personality had never changed after so many years. Even until now, she is still not a very patient person. Therefore, because of this reason, I think that a person's interest and personality is a totally different thing. Thus, how can we understand a person's fundamental personality by learning their interest that is changing all the time?

Undoubtedly, some people may agree with this statement because they think that this is the most efficient way to learn about people. However, books and movies cannot reflect a person actual personality. The movies or books they like to watch might just be an interest. As a result, I do not think that we can understand others' personality fundamentally if we only learn from the movies or books they like.