To be a successful person, one must be open to new ideas and willing to change his or her mind.

Before people become successful, they often need to face many difficulties, so they need to figure out some solutions to solve the problem. Some people say that in order to be successful, people must be open to new ideas and willing to change his or her mind, while other disagree with this statement. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this statement with several reasons.

To begin with, for students, being open minded can improve their school grades. To be more concise, since it can be hard to solve some problems by ourself, we often ask others about their experience or ideas and use it in our own studies. Take me as an example, when I first start to study in high school, there are many works, presentations, or exams I need to finish. Moreover, since I am not familiar to everything in the school, I cannot study in a effective and efficient way, so my grades were not very good. Therefore, I ask some questions to other students who had been study in this school for a few years, they are more familiar to the school so they can give me lots of tips. Such as how to study effectively for the exam, or how to plan the schedule precisely without wasting any time. So, I follow these tips and then my grades in the school improve because I can study effectively without wasting any time. As a result, when students follow others advices, they can improve their study habit and have a better grades. Indeed, people should definitely be open to new ideas.

In addition, if people are open minded, they can have more chances to learn new things. When people listen to others ideas, it can be the motivation for them to learn some different skills. For instance, my dad is a business manager in his company. When he was in college, business is his major. One day, one of his friend ask him if he want to join the tennis team, since he is open to new advices, he accept it and join the team. He learn a lot of skills while he is playing tennis and his skills is good enough for him to be a coach. Therefore, his job right now is not only being a business manager, but also a tennis coach. In this way, he become successful because he can earn more money than others. Therefore, people can have the chance to learn new things when they are open minded, so they should definitely be willing to change their minded.

Undoubtedly, some people may say that people should not be open minded, because trying new ideas are often risky and it will have a high chance to lead to the result of failure. However, people can still learn many things even they fail on doing something. They can learn from their mistake and find out some effective solutions to prevent making the same mistakes again. Therefore, only by open to new ideas can people become successful.