Businesses should hire employees for their entire lives. Do you agree or disagree?

The success of a company mainly depends on its employees. Therefore, the corporation should be painstaking while recruiting employees as well as making appropriate contracts, which leads to the question of whether businesses should hire employees for their entire lives. I totally concur with the idea that companies should retain their workers in the long term due to some rational reasons.

First of all, needless to say that it is much more economical to train old workers than young ones. Obviously and normally, trainees are amazed by the new work and environment, which must take a long time for those people to familiarize themselves with their job. As a result, the company must spend some expenditures to train those new workers. On the contrary, intellectual capital is one of elements of old workers that the new ones do not possess. The older the workers get, the more acquaintances and skills that they can learn such as leadership, management, solving-problems, and improvisation. For example, out of the young and physically strong workers who apply to the company, the boss still chooses my father- a senior- to stay inasmuch as my father has so much business experience as well as he is close to the boss’s style of work.

Secondly, the loyalty of the “grey workers” is all a company needs. The company can never grasp the new workers’ future decision, specifically they will stay with the company forever or they will take all the privileges that are given by the company and leave. In fact, there are many organizations that are at loss now that they invest in the disloyalist. On the other hand, a company can believe in older workers’ alliances because of psychological factors, which states that seniors prefer a stable life with constant income rather than an alternative life. Furthermore, once the old settle down and adhere to a certain company, the alliance may drive those people to protect the company’s secret. To sum up, a company should guarantee that its employees will not betray them or reveal confidential documents.

In conclusion, high experience and loyalty are needed elements that lead an employer to the decision of holding back their old workers.