A company is going to give some money either to support the arts or to protect the environment. Which do you think the company should choose? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A company faces the dilemma whether to invest money in the arts or to supply environment protection. Personally, I believe that a collapse of the nature is a trending problem, which requires full focus nowadays. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, humanity’s comfort and overall existence are tightly attached to environmental conditions. Due to an industrial development, overcrowded cities and oceans full of garbage, humanity stands at that point, when consequences can be irreparable. Even though a lot of activists and nature-lovers put all their effort, it is simply not enough from a perspective of a current society. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Since my childhood, I have been living in a Lithuanian village for many years where people’s life directly depends on the nature. In order to increase funding’s, a government has decided to cut down forests and to dig lakes in order to receive materials for the building. Continuously, lives of all farmers and other citizens is under a big pressure, as it brought harmful consequences to their daily routine. The point is that for these people from their perspective a support of the arts is not that important, as it does not influence their daily habits and won not increase the level of income.

Secondly, the arts have so many branches, that in our time every person is able to represent his thoughts and a vision. Furthermore, the inspiration is the most important aspect, as without it the whole process is a simple waste of a time and a money. For instance, my cousin is a professional artist and he never has required any kind of support, as everything what he needs are his head, piece of a paper and the imagination.

In conclusion, I believe that a modern society has so many problems, which should be solved as soon as possible, that supporting the art in this case is illogical, as the environment is a matter of life and death for many people. In order to make our children happy we have to be more careful with the resources that we take from the nature and if it is possible to restore them.