Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays there is an opinion that it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. Personally, I believe that focusing on your specific area is the best approach and the way of succeed. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, to be the best in any profession it is necessarily to work hard and to have a clear road. Abstraction from outer environment leads to a deep knowledge and understanding of all aspects. Human brain is not an endless library, that is why it is so important to fill it with the most valuable knowledge. Continuously, by storing some useless information person forgets something essential, as a garbage simply replaces it. For instance, Sherlock Holmes is a perfect example of importance to focus, even though he is a hero of the book. He did not know the structure of the solar system or sport news, but as he was training his deductive methods for all his life, he became the most successful detective.

Secondly, people require stability in their lives, since otherwise they are under the pressure. Person can spend all his life deciding what would be better for him to choose, instead of moving in one direction and getting benefits. For instance, my classmate was unsure after graduation whether he wants to be a doctor or an economist. He split his time and tried to study in both directions to get an ability to choose later. He was stressed and could not enjoy his life, as there were always unanswered questions. Finally, he did not became a good professional neither in medicine nor in economy. Between two stools one falls to the ground.

In conclusion, I believe that it is critical to choose a path as soon as possible. Even though it is scary and hard to focus only on one subject, fortune favors the brave.