Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? 8

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, people spend a myriad of time at work and in order to enjoy it we should think of which schedule is better for us. Personally, I prefer to work long hours just three days a week rather than short hours five days a week. There are a few reasons for that.

First of all, this kind of schedule benefits my relationships with family and friends. Working five days a week can be overwhelming. A person who works this way has to wake up early every morning and when he or she comes back home in the evening, he or she wants nothing but to lay down and relax. On the other hand, if people have four days off weekly, they have enough time to sleep and recover. This provides them with a lot of energy to communicate with others. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I am a pharmacy technician and work twelve hours shift three days a week and I love it because during my time off I can play with my children and take them out to different museums and entertaining shows. It brings us closer and helps us to build a meaningful connection. Moreover, I have plenty of free time to visit my friends and relatives and participate in their lives. This is one of the reasons why I prefer this schedule.

Secondly, when people work just a few days a week, they save money on commuting. Gas is quite expensive these days and if an individual has to drive to work almost every day, his expenses on fuel are tremendous, especially if his office is a long distance from his house or apartments. For instance, when I was living in a big city, my employer wanted me to be at work five days a week. Unfortunately, at that time it was the only available job opportunity for me, so I had to follow the request. In this way, I spent over two hundreds dollars a month on gas. However, with my current employment, which I mentioned above, I was able to reduce the expenses dramatically and afford to buy a new vehicle. This example illustrates my point of view.

To conclude, I believe that it is better to work long hours just a few days a week. This is because it helps us to develop our relationships with those who we value the most, and benefits us financially.