Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Word Count: 435

Individual's social abilities have always played a crucial role in their daily life and it definitely have profound impacts on their relations with others. Personally, I believe it is of the highest importance for people's mental health to have a few close friends around them. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, some people are talented to make friends and acquaintances with other people really fast. This flair might bring some benefits to them but it rarely can provide them with close friends. To be more specific, to make a special bond with other people, you have to put an immense amount of time and energy on your relationship. Frankly, people who make new friends easily, have a lot of people around themselves in their pleasure times; however, they do not have anyone close when they are in trouble. Thus, those people are hardly considered as friends, since close ones never leave their best friends in their hardships. My brother is a compelling example of this. He has a nice appearance and he owns most of the features which people appreciate. Thereby, he was capable of getting close to people and act friendly. Despite all these people whom he considered as his friends, when he faced a financial problem and lost quite a fortune, he was totally alone. As a result, most of these kind of friends are not reliable.

Another significant reason is that when we have tight emotional bond with other people, even if they are a few, we are assured that we have friends who support us and guide us during our arduous challenges. Close friends are people who we have known for a long time and they are pretty trustworthy. Hence, we can expect them to be our help in our hard times and confine with them to lighten the burden on our shoulders. For instance, when I was at elementary school, I met a girl who I didn't like at first, but after some fights and arguments, we became our each other best friends. We even went to the same university, and after our graduation from university we rented a house and now we are roommates. She is my best advisor and I also help her with some of her projects. She is my best friend and most trusted person in the world.

In conclusion, I would rather invest my effort and time on my already existing relationships, since only then I can have some trusted close friends who would company me through my hardships.