Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and ex

It is axiomatic that for survival, human beings depend on friends. Apparently, some friends are always with you or you meet with your friends once in a year or so or some are just recent friends, the amount off happiness cannot be weighed on a measuring scale and hence which is more important is difficult to judge. Happiness is just happiness, and the factors leading to it cannot be more important or less important. But still some people are always up for an heated debate over the question that friendship with small group of people over long time crucial in happiness rather than the happiness in the ability to make new friends. Personally I agree with the former one. I will delve into the reasons why i feel so, and hence illustrate my rational in my following essay.

First and foremost, I think that friendship is trust. If there is not trust then be it an friend who is with you for a long time or a new friend, who got acquainted with you recently, either of them will not look forward to you and give happiness because they do not have faith in you. in other words, trust is the crux of everything. For instance, If a friend of your tells something which is not to be shared with anyone else, and you just forget to do so. He/she comes to know from other person that you are sharing that information that he has told you to just keep up to you, your friend will lose his trust in you and never again share anything with you.

Another thing that comes to my mind is that friendship with long time friends is one way better because these friends are aware of your strengths and weaknesses. Long time friends when in a small group are more than better because less people , there is less confusion and more strong binding.

But to also mention that making new friends is also of utmost importance because in this progressive world we are continuously on the go and keeping in touch with old friends is not possible always. We meet friends at out work place, on business tours, at classes and although these friends do not know all about your past and other attributes, but they meet you everyday and it just becomes a routine with them. Also sometimes these new friends help you in critical situations which need immediate action contract to which an old friend in another city or country cannot reach you immediately.

Hence I feel that friends be it new or old , for the pursuit of happiness we should preserve both for long time. Even if being with small group which you are familiar of from a long time give you happiness and satisfaction , the fact that new friends can also generate utmost happiness cannot be ignored.