Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that having friends plays a significant role in everyone's life. Keeping the friendship for long time will always make you happy. I feel this way for two main reasons that I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, keeping your old friends will save you time. Making friends in nowadays is not an easy thing. As we all know that to make friends you have to spend a good amount of time together, so you get to know them better. People in the present time are so busy and they do not have enough time to stay with each other and become friends. My personal experience is a compelling examlpe of this. I work in the pharmacy, go to work every day, and even though we are five people working in the same place, we are always busy. There is not sufficinient time for us to get to know each other and call them friend. We are colleague, but not friends. Thus, we do work in the same place but we do not have fun time, because we do not undersant each others jokes. On the other hand, with my friends from high school we go outside for dinner and parties and we have fun together because we know and trust each other. This makes me feel happy.

Moreover, if you have old friends there is an open door for you in any situations. An old friend soemetimes can become like your family and be there for you to help you. My brother's experience can explain this. He has a good friend from the time he was in the university. After they finished the school they needed to attend in army. He calls him brother, because he got helped by him in very difficult instance. When they both were in army, they had to stay outside in a cold winter to ensure the place was safe so the other soldiers can get some rest. They were taking turns. Every two hours one of them had to go and stay outside. One day my brother vas sick, and he could not take his shift. His friend decided to stay there instead, and this happened for five days in the row until my brother felt better. My brother could not have been more lucky to have such a good friend, that was there for him when no one else was.