Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In our contemporary world, advancements in technology and development of the internet service had a prominent impact on human lives. The authenticity of the information pouring from these sources, had led to improvement in the quality of education in schools and colleges. Therefore, parents are highly concerned that their children should not spend too much time elsewhere, other than studying. There are two school of thoughts on the idea that students must take a break period of one year after completing high school, and before joining university courses. Although some people consent to this theory, others oppose the idea. However, I ardently assert that, it is never a wiser decision to take an extended vacation immediately after completing his school, and before beginning the university courses. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my belief, on the most outstanding and cogent grounds.

First of all, in current scenario, acquiring knowledge is not a toiling task, however, retaining the information for a long period of time is a real challenge. The society rewards only those, who can achieve success by working consistently towards their goal without taking any significant time off. This is mainly because the society knows that people get distracted from their goal, if they are away for a significant period of time. For instance, after graduation high school, immediately before enrolling for university courses, I opted for working at a computer centre for one year, to gain experience in the field. This unwise decision costed me for life time, after my post graduation from university, when I apply for a job, the one year break from education raises a red flag, and it creates a negative impression on the employers about me as an applicant. Therefore, It is a wiser decision to immediately begin university education after high school.

Furthermore, studying at a university can prove to be a life changing experience. Students must not underestimate the importance of an advanced and thorough research on the subjects and its future prospects, before enrolling for university courses. These plethora of research and collection of data is time consuming activity. Therefore one must not shift their focus anywhere else after high school. Rather they should seek help from several experienced people who have an expertise in this area. For example, my sister was highly ambitious to become a health care professional. Therefore, she spent additional hours devising a concrete plan with the help of a famous cardiologist, to work towards securing a cardiology major at AIIMS, Delhi. Had she not planned it early, she must have failed miserably.

In conclusion, time is money. Therefore, students should be cautious about how they spent their most valuable time, especially during the early days of their career. One must devise a solid plan to begin their university education immediately after high school rather than spending on long vacation, so that they can retain the knowledge gained and save time.