Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The technological advancements and availability of free internet world-wide has revolutionised the education system for students. This paradigm shift has exposed students to experience a vast field of unlimited knowledge compared to past few decades. Therefore, the easily available and convenient information make many people wonder whether it is better to grasp the ideas and concepts firmly or to learn many facts. Nonetheless, I ardently assert that it is of enormous importance to know in-depth knowledge of an idea and the concept behind it. I will illustrate three main reasons the following paragraphs to support by beliefs.

First of all, understanding of a concept helps students develope their imagination. It is an impetus for involving in creative thinking. It is of outmost importance to imagined to understand an idea. For example, Thomas Edison successfully invented light technology as he was able to understand the concept and apply it in reality. Similarly, in this competitive world, students must be able to connect their understandings and ideas to reality. These students can therefore contribute to the society and make a society better place to live in.

Secondly, it is highly critical for a human to retain the knowledge gained from childhood to adulthood, to be successful in life. During a job interview, the employer easily cull the candidates based on their knowledge. Several studies have shown that one can retain their knowledge if they have clear understanding of the concepts and ideas. Therefore the imaginative capacity of a student is highly rewarded. I deftly agree that it is our duty to motivate a child to build his understanding from a very young age by thoroughly learning the concepts.

Finally, in the technological world, it is a current trend for people to aspire for opening a new start-up company. It is seen that many students, after graduation from college, indulge in innovative ideas for solving the major problems people on earth are facing globally. For instance, global warming is a prime concern in current generation. Therefore, young people are innovating several new teachniques to reduce global warming and pollution. Simultaneously, these multiple independent start-up companies are also helping the economy of a country by employing many unemployed people. As a result, the GDP of the country is rising at a rapid pace.

In conclusion, with the advent of internet facility, people world-wide are exposed to unlimited amount of information. Each day provides a new learning opportunity. However, one must not restrict himself only by knowing the facts. It is highly important to understand the ideas and concepts and create or innovate a new technology by learning the theories. It will also help people outshine in the crowd and will be able to help people in resolving the critical problems earth is facing currently.