Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A glance at people's attitudes toward studying at university brings to the light a question that whether students, who graduate from high school, should take at least a year off to work or travel before they start studying at a university. Although some people assert that working and traveling experience is important for students, I am against the opinion.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that students who have just completed high school are not mature enough to work or travel by themselves. To be more specific, most of the students are under eighteen years old when they complete high school. They are not independent and can not protect themselves while facing emergencies. Take my personal experience for example. Before going to study at college, I found a part-time job during summer vacation. However, I did not pay attention to the contract of the job and later there was a problem with my salary. Eventually, my parents helped me to deal with the wage problem since I did not know how to cope with it.

Another point I should deem is the fact that students should gain working and traveling experience after graduating from the university. To delineate, during studying at a university, students can learn more specific and practical knowledge which is more valuable in working. What is more, they can also learn social skills, which will be helpful while traveling, since there are different people in college. For example, one of my friends worked after he completed high school. He received a little amount of salary since he could only work with some simple tasks. Nevertheless, after he graduated from college, he had the ability to accomplish more complicated projects. As a result, he gained tremendous money after the work. It is more beneficial for students to work or take a trip after completing university.

Last but not least, it is not necessary for students to work and travel right after completing high school. Admittedly, working and traveling around the world can broaden students' horizons and help them step out of their comfort zone. However, it is more important to prepare their university life before going to university. Life in college would be extremely different from what they have experienced since some of them need to study in another state or country. Students should spend their time on preparing for the coming university life instead of finding a job and taking a trip.

What can be concluded from the aforementioned reasons and examples, therefore, is that students who have just graduated from high school do not need to take at least a year off to work or take a trip before studying at university. They are not mature enough and they should work or travel after completing university.