Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The leaps and bounds of technology today ushered in the development of films and television programs. Some assert that movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave, while others disagree with it. As far as I am concerned, I am of the opinion that there are much more negative effects than positive effects.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea is that young people will copy inappropriate behavior from movies and television. Young people are not mature enough to think independently and they are easier to be influenced by what they have seen. Thus, it is hard for them to distinguish whether those stories are true or fictional and whether the behavior is right or wrong. For example, my brother watched an action movie that is full of tracing and fighting. The day after he watched the movie, he hurt one of his classmates since he wanted to imitate what the characters had done in the movie.

Another point I should deem is that spending a lot of time watching television will lead to physical disadvantages. To delineate, setting in the same place watching TV for a long time without exercise would result in obesity. Moreover, if young people watch movies at a close distance, they will probably be nearsighted. Take my personal experience for example. I enjoyed watching movies and I seldom went to outdoor activities to exercise and I became out of shape a few weeks later.

Last but not least, it is true that some educational television programs could benefit young people, but it is not likely that they would like to watch them. Young people usually enjoy watching interesting and exciting movies instead of boring educational programs. They feel uncomfortable if they are forced to watch those educational programs which they dislike. Thus, the positive effect on young people is rare since they seldom watch beneficial TV shows.

What can be concluded from the aforementioned reasons and examples is that, as a result, the negative effect result from TV and films are much more than the positive effects. Television and movies have negative influences on both mental and physical behavior.