Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

A glance at people's attitudes toward the grading system in high schools and universities brings to light a question that has been asked several times, that is, whether giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students. Although some people assert that all of the group members receive the same grade is efficient, I am against this opinion and believe that its cos exceeds its pros.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that every member of the group works on different parts of the project, which means that it is unfair to evaluate them with the same score. To be more specific, there is a division of work in the group project, students should be graded on their own part of the project. For instance, if there is a student who work on the final presentation and he does not need to write an essay about the project, the professor should judge his performance only by how well his presentation is despite the fact that how the essay made by other member is. It is not fair to grade the student's performance by the part he does not engage.

Another point that I should deem is the fact that giving the same grades to every member of a group results in the "free-rider problem". To delineate, if some members of the group are not enthusiastic about the project and do not put every effort into it, it is not a good idea to give them the same grade as other members who work very hard on the project. Take my personal experience for example. There was a project that the professor said everyone would be graded the same, I would not put much effort into it since even though I do not work as hard as other members, I could still receive the same grade as them.

What can be concluded from the aforementioned reasons is that, therefore, giving every member of a group the same grade should be stopped since it is unfair and would cause the free-rider problem.