Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university.

Some people believe that students should start studying at university right after they finish high school; however, others think it is more beneficial for students to take a year off and travel or work instead. I firmly stand for the view that high school students benefit from taking one year off before going to the university. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in this essay.

To begin with, students can have joy and release their tension by taking one year off to travel after they finish high school. They have been studying hard for several years and need to get some rest after all those years of practicing. It helps them recharge their batteries and become fresh to start new chapters of their lives without feeling stressed and tired. For example, when I graduated from high school, I started traveling around my country for about one year instead of attending university. I had a fantastic time while exploring different cities and cultures, and I got rid of the stress and anxiety of school and studying. After that year, I went to university with more passion and energy, so I enjoyed my studies a lot, and I barely got tired of my lessons. However, most of the time, my classmates who started university immediately after high school got bored and unenthusiastic about our courses.

Furthermore, when students start working after high school instead of going to the university, they will have enough time to think more about themselves and their abilities. They also can find their interests and follow them at university. If they start their studies as soon as they graduate from school, they do not have much time to recognize their capabilities. By working in different areas, they can find out which fields of study they are talented and interested in. For example, my sister started working at an art gallery when she finished high school with a math major. After a while, she understood how she was fascinated by paintings and decided to attend art school instead of engineering school. She could have never been a famous artist if she had not worked in an art gallery.

In conclusion, although some people believe that high school students should start the university as soon as possible, I think one year off before beginning the university is more beneficial for high school students. Not only do they rest, but they can also make a better choice for their future studies.