• Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All children should be required to take a foreign language class from the time they start school until they begin university. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In actual days, speak a foreign language is something very important. Being an English second language person, I strongly agree that children should start the process to learn a foreign language as soon as possible. Specially because its more easy to learn when you are a kid than grew up. The kids brain can associate more than one language at the same time and develop the ability to speak both with no accents. The brain has the power to change from one language to another instantly, like a “click”.

Differently of our parents and grandparents generation, the millennials are people that are connected all the time. The internet brought us the possibility to connect with people all around the world. Its very easy you post a picture and receive replies from people that doesn’t live in your neighborhood or even your country. And not just talking about social media, but important work positions require you to speak many different languages. Many management professionals have to deal with employees or sales team who doesn’t speak the same language. But they still need to do business.

Despite, English is the most universal language, mandarin speakers are very required from big companies because China being one of the largest sale/buyer in the world. But most important than just think what language is most spoke than others, is the person interest. When you have interest in some type of culture or country, learn that idiom will bring you close to it. Since I was a kid I always was interested in Mexico and its culture. I started to visit website to learn about the old civilization, the food, the people,… That was when I realized how helpful would be if I spoke Spanish. And this is what I did. I start learning Spanish and this was a changing life in my journey to learn about Mexico. Knowing the language helped me to understand better every website I searched of. I felt amazed when I got my first recipe of “Tacos” and was able to cook it. At same time make me realize how easier would have been if I have learned Spanish when I was a kid and during my time at school.

In conclusion, learning a second language at same time of learning the first one would be so helpful for the next generations. This would bring more open doors for that ones who want to explore the world and be part of a society which is very integrated.