Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Technology has played an important role in the development of our society. One area that is positively influenced is the education and development of children. Although some people think that children were more creative in the past; others disagree. In my view, I believe that technology has helped the children's creativity. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore as follows.

First of all, technology has created new devices, which are easily used by children and have helped them to spark their imagination in many different forms. Parents can purchase specialized programs that could teach their children step by step on how to use their imagination, so they could create things by themselves. my own experience as an observer of this phenomenon is a compelling example of this. Five years ago, I saw my sister looking for one of these programs to buy. She had heard about it and was trying to find information about where she could find one. One of my friends worked for a big high-tech company, so i asked here. She told me that their company just released one of them, which was specialized for children. After my sister bought that program for her son, she hoped that the new program would really teach her son something new. As the time passed by, she saw a huge shift on her son's creativity. Her son came up with very bright ideas of doing his own things. My sister was amazed. If my sister would not have bought this new product, then her son would have developed his creative skills for such short period of time.

Secondly, nowadays technology has helped children because almost all families have access to these devices.The price of an iPad is affordable by any family. As a result, the possibilities of possessing these beneficial tools are not an obstacle anymore as it was in the past. For instance, my grandmother told me that four decades ago, when my father was a little kid, she could not find any tool, which she could use to help my father to play creative games or teach him different new things. However, she did her best by being creative and improvising games that could spark my father's imagination, but that was not enough. The lack of market for these devices, reflected on the creative development of that generation. Therefore, children did not do well in their creative skills. It took a decade for prestigious companies to produce specialized programs for kids. According to this, it is clear that in the past children did not have too many opportunities to enhance their creative skills. This is because the technology was not well developed at that time.