Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words Do not use memorized examples.

A controversial issue relating to whether the group members should be graded with the same mark or not, has brought to the attention of students. Many students believe that it is better for the group to get one grade. On the contrary, in my opinion, the group grade should be abandon from the learning systems.

First of all, giving the same grade to all members of the group will undermine the motivation and learning of each person who is part of the group. For example, students who are low-achieving in academic settings will know that they will receive a grade, even if they do nothing at all. On the other side, the motivation of high-achieving students will be undermined as well because they do not want to give their fullest effort to a project when others are trying to take a free ride. Overall, this tells us that the same mark for the all group members will undermine their motivation of learning.

Second of all, grading the group with the same score will cause resistance from the students part and their parents, especially they who have always got high marks. For instance, three decades ago, when I was in high school, my parents enrolled me to the best school in the town. Their expectations were very high for my education. I always received high grades, but when I had to participate in group project, my grades suffered. As a result of this experience, my parents rightfully resist having me participating in group projects because grading was unfair. Some students had to do most of the group work because others had to put their energy elsewhere. That was unfair part. According to this experience, grading students who were part of the group with the same grade,will create resistance from some of the group members, who worked more than others.

In conclusion, the school should abandon grading all group members with the same mark. This is because if they do so, that will undermine learning and motivation of group members. And because parents of high- achieving students are going to resist this unfair situation.