Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Studying history helps us understand what was happening in the past and therefore makes us acquire some enlighing. however, with many benefits from history, it does not mean we have to learn this subject. It is not a wise desicion that all university students should be required to take history courses not matter what their major is, for it wastes students' time , no everyone is interested in history and schools have to pay for more history frofessors.

It is a waste of time for busy unversity students to learn unnecessary history courses. As is kown to us, students are engaged to many activities and studying. History couses are not as important as their major courses. Therefore, spending time on history couses takes up the eccential time for other significant business.

The majortity of students are not interested in history resulting from its boredom . Just as an old saying goes," Interest is the best teacher." Obviously, if students take no interest in history, it would lead to low study efficiency. eventrually, even though they delicate much time and energy to history, they learn not as much as the teachers previously expect. For example, when I was high school, I was not interested in history and I felt upset to learn such boring subject. Besides, my history teacher was conventional, relusting in the tedious class. As a relust, I paid less attention to it and finally I no doubt did not gain a good score.

If all students take history courses, schools have to hire more teachers and pay more. certainly, only the number of history prefessors can they meet the demand of students. Thus, universities have no chioce but to add more relavant teachers and assistants.

Nowadays, it is extremely expensive to hire a professor, especially the famouse unversities.

In a word, regarding to students and school benifits, asking all students to study history courses cannot achieve its previous expentations. Therefore, history course are should be elective courses rather than required courses.