Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Courses selection for university students is a crucial time. Their decision will have impact on their careers. Although, history is an important subject and can help students in some ways. However, in my opinion, field of study is important to decide whether student should take history course or not. So, I disagree with the statement. This essay will argue on reasons of my opinion.

First of all, if student's field of study is science or mathematics then he has no reason to study history. There is no link between history or science. Science totally has different domain. It tells us about different processes occurring in our world and make our future secure, but history only tells about past events. Studying history with major studies will distract student's focus. So, students should focus on their major field of study so that they can make a difference in that area. History study will not help them to explore new things. For instance, during my graduate studies, history of my country was part of my courses that I have to take. I was weak in history as I can not cram theory. So, history takes my lot of time which I can give to my other subjects and can do projects in them which will benefit me in future.

Secondly, in this rapidly changing world, no one now cares about history. Job sector do not focus on whether student has taken history classes or not. Nowadays, companies are looking for specialized persons in their field. They need great output in the job assigned to employee. Thus, taking history will not give him any advantage to find job. My friend's experience is compelling example of this. One of my friend take history subject during his engineering studies. He applied for a job and later was called for interview. During interview, interviewer asked him why he took history course instead of any other specialization course which will improve his abilities. My friend had no answer to that question because he just took that course because he thought it will be easy to pass.

In conclusion, taking history course will not be a good idea for person who has some different field. It will waste his time and it will also not be beneficial for him in future to secure job.