Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people think that universities should require all students to participate in at least one history courses, while others think that school should not force students to take history courses at all. Based on my personal experience, I think that history courses should not be compulsory. My reasons are as follows.

First, universities care about student's learning, and if they require each and every students to enroll in required history lessons, it might affect students' studies. To be more specific, if a school considered history courses as compulsory, students might spend more than 8 hours per week learning history knowledge and doing several history projects. Most importantly, most students are already running out of time preparing other major courses that are important to them, so they probably do not have enough memories in their brain for them to store history concepts. That means, students' learning might be distracted by these compulsory history courses. On the contrary, if the college does not enact such policy, students will have more time preparing for courses related to their field of study. Clearly, forcing all students to take history classes might seriously weaken their learning.

Secondly, most schools care about budgets, and not requiring students to participate in certain compulsory courses can help them save a significant amount of money. Take my university as an example. History classes are considered compulsory in my school, so they spent more than a million dollars per month purchasing necessary equipment for those classes, such as textbooks. Moreover, hiring three or four history professors alone took them more than 4000 dollars per month. Nevertheless, my brother's university did not request all students to participate in history classes. As a result, they did not need to allocate a great deal of money designing compulsory classes and hiring history lecturers. Evidently, compulsory education might make a university disburse too much money for those lessons.

Finally, colleges place an emphasis on professors' mental health, and demanding all students to participate in history lessons might make teachers feel under a lot of pressure. For example, take my university again as an example. Many history professors need to spend 8 to 9 hours per week designing materials that are suitable for students from different departments. In addition, lecturers also need to spend extra hour explaining basic concepts during the class, since most students do hot have an adequate amount of basic history background. What is worse, the quality of questions asked by these students are extremely poor, and from time to time, professors do not know where to start when explaining a historical concept. As a result, most teachers are worn out teaching these compulsory courses. Had my university abolish such policy, the majority of professors could feel less stressed when giving lectures to students.

In conclusion, I maintain that schools should not demand students to take history lessons no matter what their field of study is. This is because schools should care about budget, students' learning, as well as professors' mental status.