Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

History, one kind of course in the universities, has been valued and triggers a heated discussion over whether all university students need to take history courses regardless of what their field of study is. History courses, in some people's views, are not necessary for youngsters. Contrary to these people's opinions is my perspective that taking history courses can benefit young people, due to the contributions to their academic performance and sterling qualities.

What must be prioritized is that learning history courses, instead of not studying these courses, is beneficial to youngsters' academic learning, by extending their knowledge and cultivating their interests. To begin with, only by studying history courses, can college students reap and harvest a wide range of expertise. In detail, when we learn more about world history, like French Revolution, the world wars, and many countries' history, we would know many significant phenomena and the stories of their backgrounds; on the other hand, under no circumstances can we reap such a large amount of knowledge if we do not learn history. Moreover, never can we ignore the significance of history courses to students' interests. To be more specific, the more we go deep into history, the more we will be stimulated by famous scientists and great statesmen, and we will be interested in studying some fields; however, it is impossible for students to know more about these outstanding people.

What is equally worth discussing is that taking history classes, rather than learning other courses, is favorable to young people, by fostering their persistence and innovation. First, it is well-known that there were many distinguished persons who made successes because of persistence. Specifically, Steven Jobs, who was the CEO of Apple company, once was fired by his co-workers, but he never gave up, and finally he returned to the company and made Apple the biggest company in the world; in contrast, there is no chance for us to learn about his story if we do not learn history. Furthermore, we can learn about substantial celebrities who were successful because of innovation. To explain it further, we can also learn from the last example of Steven Jobs that he was innovative, and he redefined the concept of the mobile phone by inventing the iPhones; on the contrary, can we know the importance of innovation if not studying history?

Academic performance, the foundation of students' success, can be boosted if they learn more about history. Sterling qualities, the bedrock of students' development, should be facilitated, when they take history courses. In conclusion, only by requiring to take history courses, instead of not requiring them, can universities help students to reap numerous benefits.