Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are different opinions on whether all university students should be required to take history courses or not. As with everything, there are always two sides of every question. Some people hold the opinion that all students should take history classes. Others, of course, strongly disagree that all students should learn history even though their field of studies is different.

I, myself agree with the former because all students should have the opportunity to learn history and also in any field of study history is very important.

To begin with, students should have the opportunity to learn history at school. The best time to learn history is during the university because at that phase of life students understand better the complex concepts of the past, and their curiosity and desire to know more about the past is higher at that time. By understanding the decisions that our ancestors have made in the past they can learn from those and not repeat again the same mistakes that they have made at that time. If schools programs do not involved history, then the majority of students would never have the opportunity or the time to study history on their own, unless they love history so much. That is why, I think that the university as a institution should have history included in their curriculum, so every student will have the chance to study about the past.

Furthermore, another point that should be consider is that by studying history in university they would find out if they would continue for further studies on this field or not. For instance, One of my friends, wanted to continue his education on history. But his university did not have the history on curriculum, so he had to find another university that had that program. he was frustrated because he wanted to go to the university that was close to his home. Consequently, he has to go to another state just because the university which is close to his home do not have that program. If all universities offer history courses then it would be easier for students to chose the universities they they like. Because of this, i strongly suggest that universities should include history in their curriculum.