Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Although science and technology will continue to improve, the most significant improvement for the quality of people’s lives have already taken place.

In the modern era, science and technology is progressing with exponential speed and have always been playing an important role in the people’s lives. With taking these advancements into account, some people possess the conviction that the most important enhancement associated with the quality of people’s lives have already happened. I am of the opinion that there are still some domains in which human beings have many issues that should be solved. In what follows, I will elaborate on my reasons.

First and foremost, nowadays, due to adverse economic climate, people have hectic working schedules and are supposed to work from dawn to dusk to be able to survive. It is Axiomatic that the more people deal with this situation, the more stress they experience, so they will find themselves drawn into depression and some others mental and physical problems. Therefore, they need some cures for their issues, but there are some illnesses for which there is no remedy yet. My father’s experience is a case in point. About two years ago, due to bankruptcy, he was forced to take out a loan from a private bank. Thus, he was required to work very hard to be capable of giving back the money. Most of the time, he felt stressed, and after few months he face some physical issues. Afterwards, he went to visit a doctor, and as his doctor mentioned, there was no treatment for his physical problem. Finally, my father passed away because of his sickness. This experience made it clear to me that although science and technology had progressed, there are some physical problems for which there is no remedy.

The second noteworthy reason to be mentioned is that despite the huge amount of progress of science and technology, environmental problems are biggest issues facing the world today. Due to the fact that humans are burning fossil fuels more than before to generate energy, we are confronting some difficulties such as air pollution, soil corrosion and so on. Governments have tried to find way out of these issues. Nevertheless, they have not been able to come up with solutions. In the research conducted in my country in 2020, the results revealed that the amount of pollution has tripled over the course of time, and about fifty percent of forests have been demolished. Besides, there is almost no clean soil in the world, which means humans will encounter huge difficulties to gain enough foods for all people in the world. had science and technology progressed enough, there would not have been such problems in the world.

All aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that science and technology has not progressed enough because not only are there many mental and physical problems which there is no cure for them, but also, environmental problems we are facing every day are escalating, and humans is not able to solve them. It is suggested that governments allot more budget to research and development to enable scientist to find answers to these issues.