Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

“Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past”

“After all, the world is flat”. It is the true that our world is changing tremendously whether we will it or not. Skeptics doubt that our happiness is going down despite the rise of innovation in many fields of life. From my point of view, such kinds of changes bring a fulfilling happiness to humans.

In the first place, the idea of being happy even if we have to live in a circumstance that is lack of modern devices seems to be so strange. Our basic instinct is to question about everything. Dating back to the age of ancient Greek, countless philosophers had wondered about how our world function. Then they did invent a number of inventions that made our life more convenient. The curiosity is our box of Pandora. Human did dream of flying beneath the azure sky, diving deeper and deeper in the ocean, or even more insane to travel among the stars. We all know the story “the fall of Icarus” that mentions the extremely powerful desire to fly as the birds. It is not only a folk but also a mirror reflecting our yearning. Indeed, we may not never break our limits or achieve the most insane dream without the support of technology. But we did success thanks to the change fueled by science. For example, the moment when the brothers of Wrights flew across the sky could be the happiest moment of mankind since human will be no longer pin our feet on the ground. The world used to be a quiet place filled with its simple happiness. However, the humble blissful could never satisfice human’s imagination. Living in the past could truly drive humans unsatisfied.

On another aspect, the modern world in which we live could be considered as a magical chest waiting us to unseal. Nowadays, human could experience countless activities that our ancestor could not even imagine. It is absolutely a great joy to travel around the world, experience the culture, people, and cuisine from every corner of our society. To our previous generations, these kinds of ideas seem to be unbelievable. In addition, skeptics doubt that the tremendous changes could threat our traditional values. They blame globalization, a prime example of change, as the main reason to cause humanity down. However, globalization is not a hazard but a blessing from technology. In fact, it facilitates the poor countries to speed up in path of innovation. For example, globalization has changed deeply the poverty, the racism, and the unbalance of sexes. That is the typical example of a world which is changing itself. I do believe that those who fear the unknowns will fear the changes. For changes is humans’ journey against the ignorance. Motivated by our knowledge, it is deserved to believe that the world of changes facilitates human to achieve happiness in the highest level.

In conclusion, even if the wind of change might not carry only the good, it is unacceptable to declare that we could have a happier life in the past. I do trust in the benefits brought by a world which is changing itself tremendously. I do trust in the highest level of happiness that humans have ever experienced.