Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: books are not needed any more, because people can read information on computers.

With the advent of computers and the Internet, quite a few changes, whose proponents believe that they benefit the world, while whose critics see no great merits other than downsides in them, occur in the world. There is no exception for reading and using books. Nowadays, people often take advantage of e-books and utilize them widely. I subscribe to the idea that e-books eventually supplant ordinary books made of paper on account of their integration as well as flexibility.

People read e-books on computers, smart-phones, or tablets, providing a great number of other helpful tasks, with the result that they have access to a versatile and virtually integrated environment while reading e-books. This gives the e-books a great advantage over paper books. To illuminate my point, I would like to provide an illustrative example. Given the situation where one needs to perform either a calculation with a calculator or a search on the Internet about an issue while reading a context, if he or she uses e-books, they can easily use other applications on computers to this end. People, therefore, reach their aims promptly and conveniently. However, detractors of modern books express that the multi-task environment, a computer, is able to distract users’ attention. For instance, readers can check newspaper sites, listen to pieces of music, or watch videos while they are in the middle of reading a book. I confirm the fact that approximately, all of the e-book users have experienced such distraction, but once users are accustomed to this environment after a while, such distraction will become disappeared.

Another reason is that e-books are immensely flexible regarding the ways their users can both edit and share. Their users can write down notes and highlight texts wherever they want and remove them easily. In fact, there is practically infinite space for jotting points down in e-books, whereas paper books lack this feature. In addition, a person is able to copy and extract a part of a text, and then insert it to other places they are inclined to. Furthermore, people can put comments in parts of e-books and are able to share them online so that their colleagues in a collaborative project can observe them, think about them, and finally air their ideas without that they have to exchange physical books themselves. This feature of e-books makes conducting international projects possible and expeditious. It stands to reason that hundreds of thousands of e-books can be stored in a small disk, where an immense library is needed for storing and preserving such numbers of regular books.

To sum up, with all this taken into account, I do believe that e-books have been a substantial invention of today's’ world and will replace paper books in the future in that in terms of editing and sharing, they are more flexible, and with the help of easy accessibility to other software on computers, they become a comprehensive and integrated environment. I wish that everyone in the world, specifically people of impecunious countries, would have access to computers as well as the Internet, the most serious impediments of using e-books.