Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Educating children is one of the most important tasks of schools and teachers. Children are cornerstones of every society, and if they are educated properly, the future of that society will be guaranteed. While some think that because of these new technologies that children have access to, it is harder to teach them, others believe otherwise. As far as I am concerned, I totally believe that educating children is more difficult now than it was in the past, thanks to cell phones and other digital equipment. The reasons why I think so will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First of all, children cannot fully concentrate on their education nowadays. In the past, children spent their off-school times playing with their friends or doing sports like football or basketball in their backyards. When they came to school, they had nothing else to think about. In contrast, today's children spend much of their time on the internet with their cellphones or playing online games and social media. They bring their cell phones to school and are always concerned with them. It is like they are online 24 hours a day, and it is all they think about. They have online friends, or maybe boyfriends or girlfriends. It always occupies their minds even when they are in schools. For instance, children now use the Instagram app on their phones to connect and be in touch with their friends. When they are in school or at home, or even in their bed, they are checking Instagram and messaging there. Nevertheless, in the past, there were no such problems. When children were at school, they had nothing other than their education to think about.

Second, many children now think that they do not need teachers anymore. Nowadays, children have access to many online educational sources, and they can use them even by use of their cell phones. Some of those sources are widely accepted and very popular, and children think they are much better than their own teachers. As a result, they do not pay attention to class or even hardly attend school. My own experience demonstrates this reality. About twenty years ago, when I was in school, our teachers were the only source for learning, so we paid as much attention as we could to learn. Even some of my classmates wrote whatever the teacher was saying because they did not want to miss anything. On the other hand, my younger brother is going to middle school now. He has a cell phone, and through that phone, he has found great online sources about his lessons. Therefore, he hardly goes to school, and only goes to talk to his friends or play games with them.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I strongly believe that teaching children in the past was much easier than it is today. Not only children had fewer distractions back then, but also the teachers were the only source to learn school courses, so children closely paid attention.