Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on a cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I disagree with the idea that educating children is more challenging than it was in the past because of the online games, cell phone and social networking Web site. There are three reasons to support my point of view, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First, these services that prevent children from learning can be limited by parents. It might be true that a lot of children today spend longer time on the Internet compared with the children a few decades ago and it negatively affect their learning. However, parents can set a time limit for the cell phone or games. For instance, iPhone and iPad have a setting for parents to limit the time that children use certain application or the devices itself. What is more, in fact, my parents set time limit for the time I watch the television when I was small and it successfully made my grades in school pretty high so setting time limit for children to use electric devices or games will avoid affecting their education. These entertainment does not affect children's learning if correctly used.

Second, parents are even easier to get information because of the technology. Thanks to the technology innovation, we can reach out for information very easily. However, in the past, there was no tool to search for the information we want. For example, when I and my parents were searching for university, we could found myriads of information just by typing our questions such as the university's daily life, reputations, courses the university provide and so forth. If there were no Internet, parents would have hard time finding information and educating children.

Thirdly, playing online games or using social networking Websites sometimes provide great opportunities for children to find new interest. Studying subjects at school might not the only possibility the children have. Using the Internet enables them to encounter the new world. For instance, in high school, I was scrolling on social media and found a post that explains about the differences between artists and designers. I thought they were the same and since I was not a great artist, I thought designing would not be for me. However, because of the post I saw, I started to be intrigued by designing, that is not an art but telling the information effectively, and eventually, I decided to take a major in designing at the University. Without the Internet, I would not have found my talents in designing. Educating children using the Internet would be more meaningful than just focusing on learning the core subjects at school.

In conclusion, I believe that educating children is not more difficult than it was in the past. This is because parents can limit the time of using the Internet and parents can also get a lot of valuable information through the Internet that makes educating children easier. Additionally, using the Internet may be very beneficial for children's education.