Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The extended family (grandparents, cousins,...) are a part of a family. In some families, grandparents, cousins, aunts have a basic role for other members which may this role be colorless for other families. Moreover, the role and importance of the extended family have changed over time. Personally speaking, I think the extended family is less important today than it was in the past. I have mentioned some reasons and my experiences to defend my opinion below.

All members of a family including the extended family or the close members such as parents, sisters, brothers were living together in the past. They lived in one house or their house was near to each other. Now, all members live separately and Some of them live in another city or even another country, so they can not have an influence on each other. As a result, they are less important than it was in the past. For example, my father and his parents had been living with his extended family in a big house when he was young. He worked with his cousins and uncles in a shop, so they were close to each other. Today, I, my parents, and my siblings live in a small house. I have not even seen some of my cousins because they live in a far city and have not enough time to come to their hometown or maybe they do not care about their extended family.

Another reason that I think needs to be mentioned is that living today is more complex than living in the past. People were living simply in a house and working on a farm or a shop, and life was passing happily. Today, people need to work hard and learn a profession for a career to be able to live properly. They can not spend much time with their family.

To sum up, I think the extended family has lost its importance now than it was in the past.