Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Grades (marks) encourage students to learn.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Grade, the foundation of the modern education system, has raised wide discussion on whether or not it encourages students to learn. Some people believe that grades definitely increase students' motivation to learn. However, from my perspective, I hold the opinion that grades actually do harm to students' study because of the negative effects it brings to students, the low feedback for some students, and the comprehensive assessment it lacks.

As is known to us all, students nowadays face incredible pressure in school which is deteriorating their physical and mental health. Being pushed by the tight learning schedule and the abundant assignments their teachers hand out, they almost possess no time for their physical exercises. It must be concerned that their body health is decreasing, along with all kinds of diseases that should not appear at their ages. Take my experience as an example. In high school, the daily timeline is so strict that it only gives us twenty minutes to finish lunch, including the waiting time. Moreover, although we do have P.E. classes, they are often occupied by other teachers of major subjects such as Chinese and math. As a consequence, our valuable time for sporting is lost. In addition, long-time pressure does great harm to students' mental health. It has been shown in some reports that a high proportion of students suffer from mental illness.

Those students who always fail to make good grades will be depressed by grades. In order to keep the enthusiasm to study, students must receive constant positive feedback, from which the easiest way is to get a good grade. Nonetheless, those bottom students lack such positive feedback and continuously being disturbed by their unsatisfying grades. Maybe their terrible performance in grades is not due to their mediocre intelligence, but their lack of positive feedback. For instance, one of my friends in my childhood, Mike, is a smart boy. He was gifted in math and expressed intensive interest in math. Unfortunately, he failed his exam in a final test. Losing his confidence since then, he became an ordinary student, losing all his dream of becoming a mathematician which is really a pity.

In summary, for the reasons I mentioned above, I can safely draw the conclusion that grades will sometimes discourage students to learn.