Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue of whether that is better for children to choose a similar job that their parent’s jobs is very controversial. On one side, supporters of the idea believe that children should choose similar jobs as their parents. They could benefit from this. On the other hand, critics of this maintain that if children decide to work in a similar as their parents they could be unhappy for the rest of their life. However, after a very careful consideration I maintain the opinion that children should choose similar jobs as their parents, for a few reasons which I will explain below.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that children should follow the footsteps of their parents. This could be a quite advantageous for them. In fact, children will feel support from their parents because they are in the same field. A vivid example to shed light on what I mentioned above is that I chose the same job as my dad. He is dentist and since I was a kid I wanted to study the same career as him. Growing up I realize that this has been my dream and now I can test it. Choosing the same job as my dad has benefited in great amount because he has his own dental office in which I am working as a dentist. Also, as all the patients know that I am her daughter they trust on me as they trust on my father.

The second reason which is worth some thought, is that I did not have to spend a lot of money building my own practice now the business is a family business. Instead many children that choose different jobs as their parents have to invest great amount of money to start their business, but this was not my case. That is why I decided to take the same profession as my dad because I knew he will support me in every moment of my decision.

To wrap up, I strongly believe that choosing the same profession or job that our parents always will benefit us from one side or the other one, so we do not have to be afraid to take that decision. It will be worthy.