Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

There is a general debate nowadays about whether students should just take courses in their specific fields or enroll in a variety of classes. Without a doubt, I think that it should be mandatory for students to take a variety of academic subjects while enrolled in university. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore as follows.

First of all, when students take courses in different fields, it can help them to acquire a sea of knowledge but also broaden their horizons. This also makes it easier to combine two fields into one research topic, which creates outstanding preparation. Students will have the opportunity to be exposed to more fields, so they could realize their potential. My experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in college, I majored in Pharmacy and Business. Now that I am a businesswoman specialized in pharmacy field, I feel that the time and effort spent totally paid off as I got the best of both worlds. That is why I believe that students should aim to register on a variety of fields.

Secondly, when students get involved with other academic subjects, it allows them to expand their social circle and establish connections. They will come in contact with people from different walks of life. They can talk about finance or specific knowledge, so they could solve problems by learning from their perspectives. Therefore, students could become creative overall. For instance, a survey revealed that students who double-major earn more than their counterparts who only majored in one field five years after their graduation. According to this survey, I think that students would benefit more if they expand their academic learning in more than one major.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that having diverse academic knowledge far outweighs being intellectually one dimensional. This is because students could expand their horizon and because they could expand their connections and learn from other people's expertise in their field. Ultimately, having a broad knowledge is a good foundation for a successful career.