Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

A controversial issue relating to whether it is better to listen to news from people that have different opinions than your own, has brought to the attention of public. Many people believe that listening people that have the same opinion as yours is much better than listening the opposite side. On the contrary, in my view, people should listen or watch news reported from people that have completely different views than yours.

First of all, listening people that hold different perspectives than yours will help you to hear the other side of the story, which you might have never thought about it before. As a result, I could better understand the situation and come up with a good judgement. For example, four years ago, when election happened, I was not sure for who I was going to vote. Before I reached in a conclusion, I wanted to hear both sides of the parties and understand better their intentions. If I were not listen to both sides, I would not have the the opportunity to make a smart decision about my vote. Overall, this experience tells us that people should be open and listen to other people with a different opinion than theirs, so they could come up with a better understanding.

Furthermore, watching news represented by individuals that hold different opinions than yours will allow me to become an open-minded person and be more confident about my thoughts related to that news. In fact, when people are exposed to a variety of viewpoints, that could help them to not being reluctant about their own views. For instance, I will mention the same scenario of my first example. After I watched on TV all the debates related to both competitive parties, I was able to not only to open my eyes by understanding both sides, but also I became confident on what my own opinion was. According to this experience, I believe that people who listen to people who think differently than you, will help them to come up with a powerful opinion on their own.

In conclusion, people should watch news reported by individuals that have different views. This is because that will help them to be exposed to the other side of the story. And because, that is going to enable people becoming open-minded and more confident on their own thoughts about the news.