Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject

Is is long been a topic of debate that whether people should try to learn numerous things or try to achieve their highest point in jut one.The prompt suggests that it is better for anyone to have knowledge of many academic subjects as compared to having specialisation in just one subject. I do not agree with this assertion due to the following three reasons.

Firstly, a person who does not have specialisation in one particular subject and focuses on everything at once finds it extremely challenging if something unexpected comes up in their work. This creates issues in the real world as it impacts their problem solving skills. A person who does not know in and out of a problem with the software application; reporting that issue to the developer as a bug in the system. Now, because the software developer is not specialised on working on that particular application and has a broader knowledge of how everything works will find himself in tough situation while looking for the issue in depth. Therefore, it is suggested that anyone who wants to make their own life easy should work towards specialising in only one field instead of sailing in multiple boats at the same time.

Furthermore, in today's globalised world, competition in each field is increasing exponentially causing people who are not best as their work to fall behind. A person who try to have a broader knowledge of everything cannot be exceptionally talented at anything. This becomes a great disadvantage because there is always crowd of people who is better than you at what you do. This situation creates difficulty in not only finding jobs these days but also a person who is not specialised at their work may find it difficult to survive in such scenario.

Lastly, people or organisations who use the idea of specialisation in their field even if its just one field, complete their tasks in lesser time than the people who try to be good at everything. For instance, a research during industrial revolution in USA, brought an interesting finding to people's attention. They conducted research on what kind of work flow is the best to create production faster and efficient. During their study they found out that in contrast to the traditional system at that time which was; all the employees in the factories were performing all the tasks. Looking at this situation they came up with a new plan and implemented it on a larger level to find out which work flow is that best. This new plan involved a different structure for assigning work to the employees. They observed that when same work was assigned to a single employee every day, his speed of completing the task increased, leading to reduction of cost of production. This architecture became popular since then, in all the areas of production or businesses. This proves that when a person or employee just concentrates on one type of work and learning, they work more efficiently as compared to someone focusing on everything at once.

Some people may argue, that people specially students should try to gain knowledge of every subject and should not focus on only one subject in their curriculum to increase their knowledge. Though it may seem like a good idea, but isn't it why schools till certain standards teach all the subjects common for all students, so that they don't have to do that on their own later in life. Hence, a person should try to gain specialisation in one field instead of trying to achieve everything because it stops them to fully reach their potential.