Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to make friends with intelligent people than with the people who have a good sense of humor.

Since people have undeniable effects on each other, it is vitally important for each person to select some excellent individuals as his friends. Although a plethora of people hold the opinion that the main characteristic of a friend is to be clever, others disagree with this point of view and believe that having a sense of humor is more crucial. Although a certain conclusion cannot be made, I, to a great extent, hold the former viewpoint. Among countless reasons, which can vindicate my point of view, I will mention the two most conspicuous ones through the following paragraphs.

The first reason that juts out of my mind easily at the first moment of thinking about this issue is the fact that clever people always have some effective solution for all problems. They can easily evaluate all positive and negative aspects of an issue, and then make the best decision for it. Therefore, consulting with these intelligent people will lead to better results. To shed more light on this matter, the noteworthy statistics revealed by a recently conducted research in the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) shown that people who have clever friends are more successful in their lives, since they use their friends’ advice. In this study, scientists investigated two groups of people for three years. In one group, all members have intelligent friends, and the other group’s members have some normal friends. After investigation, the member of the former group would have gained more success than the latter. Consequently, the more clever friends someone has, the more benefit he will gain in his life.

The second and equally exquisite proof for this assertion is about this importance that clever individuals always have fantastic plans in their lives. In other words, they carry out all of their tasks in some particular manners, and manage their time more effectively. Making friend with such people is very useful since by doing so, you can learn how to manage your life as well as your time. To shed more light on this matter, when I was in Tehran, studying engineering, I had a clever friend. He had a perfect plan for his assignments, and accomplish each task in its time. Since he was very successful, I asked him to teach me how to manage my time and have a favorable schedule. Therefore, he helped me, and after a while, I had a great plan for my daily life. Hence, making friends with him completely changed my life. As it is clear, having clever friends is very profitable.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned arguments, we may draw the conclusion that it can be more advantageous for human beings if they choose their friends between intelligent people. This contention is due to the fact that not only do clever persons have spectacular advice but also others can learn a great host of things from them. Consequently, it is highly recommended that individuals select some intelligence as their friends.