Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to take risks and explore new things when you are older than when you are young.

We are all aware the trying new things is the essence of life; otherwise, life will be boring. Some people believe that it is better that you try new things when you get older, other than when you are young. In my opinion, I reckon that taking a risk in old age is more sensible. I feel that way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, elders are more anxious and determined to achieve successful and outstanding things. To be more specific, when you are young, you still have all your life ahead of you in which you can satisfy your ambitious hopes and dreams. In contrast, when you get older, you will feel that, unless you do an unpredictable and risky accomplishment, you will end up feeling useless. For instance, after my father had retired, he embarked upon study for a Ph.D. in business; he had risked a substantial amount of money in a prestigious university. He knew that his mental abilities to study hard and memorize academic subjects were not as efficient as young people, but his potential achievement had provoked his willingness and determination. Surprisingly, his results were superb, and he outcompeted his young rivals. A few months after graduation, He got a job offer as a professor at that university. As you can see, the inclination to prove success in that old age does trigger their enthusiasm to try risky actions.

Secondly, young people have various responsibilities, which they cannot escape. In other words, youth are always busy because they start new families that they have families to provide; they have a future career to build. Therefore, they cannot take any chance to fail and lose their current established conditions, unlike older people who are free of any duty, and they have nothing to lose. For example, my brother, when he was in his forties, he had won the lottery to immigrate to the United States of America. Although it seemed for most people and himself as an immensely terrific opportunity, he had hesitated because he did not dare to risk a well-paid and stable job. His accountability toward his family prevented him from taking that risk and travel abroad to start from scratch. This experience taught me that young people do have several constraints to take an uncertain possibility.

In conclusion, I believe it is more rational to explore new things in old age than when you are young. Not only because elders intentionally take a risky thing to prove that they are successful, but also, the young have many responsibilities that hinder them from exploring new things.