Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed materials such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critically important that scholars use the best available resources when they do research. In my opinion, it is far better to use printed materials than online sources. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, printed materials such as books and articles are more reliable than websites. This is because the content on websites can be edited by anyone in the world. On the internet, nobody knows you are a dog! Even prestigious websites like Wikipedia often contain incorrect information. A real story, which happened just a few days ago demonstrates the unreliable of online sources. A post on Wikipedia BBS points out that an American teenager who doesn't speak Scots at all wrote almost all the Scottish content on Wikipedia. The teenager just uses Google to translate English content to Scots content and post them. That shows that online sources are not really reliable.

Secondly, there are so many ads on the Internet that we could be easily distracted. My own experience demonstrates this point of view. Nowadays ads videos are really interesting and the study is relatively boring. When I browsers information, it is really easy to be attracted by ads. In my freshmen year, I often lost interest in my studies easily when I did my programming course assignment, which a lot of research on the Internet is needed because of the ads on websites. But now, I try to avoid using 3C products to improve my efficiency. If I had used printed materials such as books and articles to study, it would be easier to focus on my work because those materials often don't contain unnecessary information.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that printed information is more useful than online resources. This is because books and printed journals are less likely to contain errors, and because books provide a superior level of detail.