Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When students do research for their class assignments they use both printed and online sources, and both types have distinct advantages and disadvantages. However, I agree that it is better to use printed materials rather than Internet-based resources. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, printed materials such as books and articles are more reliable than online sources of information. This is because websites can be edited by anyone in the world, regardless of whether or not they are qualified academics. As a result of this, articles in online encyclopedias often contain incorrect and biased information. I have even heard that some people insert incorrect facts into online databases as a mischievous joke. My own experience demonstrates the danger of relying too heavily on online sources of information. Two semesters ago, I was assigned a research paper in a freshman history class. I cited data that I found on Wikipedia which turned out to be completely incorrect. The information that I included in my essay was so hopelessly wrong that my professor spotted it immediately, causing me to fail the assignment and receive a fairly low grade in the class at the end of the semester. If I had taken the time to compare what I had read online to a book or a scholarly article I would not have included it and not have received such a bad score in the class.

In addition, books are superior to online articles because they provide a greater depth of information. Books are much longer than online articles, so they are much useful to students. Students who use printed resources when doing research also benefit from the detailed indexes and biographies which they include. I have personally experienced some of these benefits during my time as an undergraduate student. For example, when I wrote a paper last semester in a history class, the very first book that I consulted contained a long description of the both the underlying causes and long-term effects of the historical event I was writing about. In contrast, most of the online articles that I consulted contained little more than facts and dates. I based my research on the book rather than the articles, so I was able to write an insightful essay.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that printed information is more useful than online resources. This is because printed sources of information are less likely to be biased or contain errors, and because books provide a superior level of detail.