Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.

To discuss whether young people have influence on the orientation of our society is equivalent to whether young people are important to it, and to whether we realize this importance if there exists one. To my understanding, the role of youth in determining the future of society is pivotal and is increasingly recognized as so. Undoubtedly, they influence on our society in some aspects, such as the Internet, education and their future impact.

First, browsing through the website, it can be found that young people account for the majority group in any prevalent Internet forum, such that they affect the network behavior and culture. Increasingly sophisticated and popular as the communication technology is, smartphones, laptops and variety of chatting apps have come together into young people's life. The young group becomes so significant in this virtual world that they draw huge attentions from such organizations as media, companies and manufacturers. Media is willing to focus on them, not only because of the recognition of the youth's influence, but for that they could bring a huge profit to media. For example, some established football clubs would elaborate advertisements more likely for their young supporters to fascinate them and continue to sell them peripheral products. Such companies or media are more interested in young people, and less so in other groups, because their targets are the most influential group on the website, the atmosphere of which is consequently influenced by such a group.

Second, there also exists an orientation led by young people in education, especially when they are expected by the society to behave and study well. Admittedly, educational policies are made by the department of education. But it is the reaction of the youth to their educational atmosphere that influences that of the policy-maker. On one hand, since each youngster is expected to be ambitious, creative and diligent, a set of educational plans have to be made to act so. On the other hand, it is occasionally reported that some problems such as campus violence occur in high school, or that there exists such inappropriate behaviour of teachers as corporal punishment or incompetent ability of teaching. Then the authority will respond to these problems. Just like what the department of education do not long ago, when they warn that teachers are not allowed to make money by teaching their own students outside the school. Such a ubiquitous phenomenon harmed the quality of education but caused widespread concern, because young people are the focus of our society and they have a strong influence on it by affecting the educational policies.

In a nutshell, though young people do not infuse all aspects of society, they do have influence on its future through the Internet and education owing to their importance both in the present and in the future.