Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People tend to attach great importance to their own country’s history and the subject is one of the major courses we learn in middle and high school. When it comes to university students, is history still so important as a subject and all students should be required to take one? The answers will be quite divided. But as far as I am concerned, it is unnecessary for students from other majors to take a compulsory history courses.

Although people might argue that it is imperative for students to take history courses because they serve as a good way to inform students of their own country’s history. Thus, they can help to arouse cultural confidence and cultivate the sense

of belonging. However, they still should not be regarded as compulsory.

On one hand, studying history can be a kind of torture for those who are not interested in history. As the old saying goes:” Interest is the best teacher.” If students do not interest in learning history, simply force them to take such course seems painful. In this context, students will not perform well in a history class and those positive effects will not take place as well. For example, my sister is always a person who hates to learn art like English and History. She perform poorly in her high school history classes getting an average grade fifty out of one hundred. So imagine how disappointed and unhappy she will if she were asked to take a compulsory history course in her relatively free university period.

Moreover, requiring all students from different to learn history in a way occupies the time devoted in their own field. Time is limited for everyone. Taking extra courses means less time to the literally important things and greater pressure. With no enough time, students will have to shorten the time used in learning their majors, which might result in unfavorable performances. In addition, since university courses are set to help students’ job preparation, having less time learning those courses other than history makes students not so prepared for their career. In this way, the initial good intention of taking history courses digresses.

In short, although taking compulsory history courses may help students to some extent , its disadvantages outweigh the positive ones. Students may under great pressure taking the history courses without interest, which leads to poor performances in such curses. In addition, by contracting the time students used in their own majors, required history courses impedes students’ job preparation.