Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Development of technology has led to an increase in the number of available news sources, which disseminate every single fact throughout the world immediately. As far as I am concerned, knowing about various events from all around the world is useful to some extent, even though the chance of being affected by them is very low. This essay will explore some of the reasons for my viewpoint in the following paragraphs.

The first reason that contributes to the high significance of caring about the non-identical events happening around the world is the fact that this status can provide people with contrasting opportunities to increase their awareness about the world. To be aware of the consequences of climate change and global warming in one part of the world could raise the level of sensibility about the surrounding environment among the members of every society. Although the destruction of coral reefs in the coastal line of South America is not likely to have a major impact on the marine life of the ocean of India, it could warn people of that region about the diverse effects of disturbing the balance of nature around them.

Should people be aware of the negative aspects of putting nature in jeopardy, they will try harder to conserve the environment and prevent some future disasters.

Secondly, the high importance of having a considerable amount of information about the whole world lies behind the fact that human beings are social animals and care about their counterparts all around the world. The fact that they are not likely to be hurt by the events happening on the other side of the world does not mean that they are indifferent about the destiny and conditions of people who are in danger in those areas. A compelling example of this notion is the news of destructive earthquakes in different parts of the world. When people hear about a tremendously huge seismic activity somewhere else, they come together to gather money and other basic needs including food and clothes to help the people who are injured and lost their properties. As it is widely acknowledged, people of one part of the world send their goods and things by large airplanes to reach the other parts much far away beyond the immense oceans. It is because they perceive the pains of the injured people as their own pains and wish to help them as far as they are able to. If people do not follow different news about these events, they cannot help their counterparts.

On the whole, taking all the aforementioned reason into account, I believe that it is especially substantial to know about the diverse facts and events that happen all around the world despite the fact that we are not likely to be influenced by those events. Not only will this opportunity raise the awareness of people about their own surrounding, but it also provides them with the chance of helping other people who are in danger.