Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

News has always been a crucial segmentation of everyone's life. A controversial argument that is often raised regarding this topic is whether it is better to know about the events happening around the world or not. While some may believe you don't need to know anything that is not going to affect your life, I would have an opposite view if I were obliged to take sides for several reasons, some of which I will elaborate on subsequently.

To begin with, knowing about the events around you gives you the chance to socialize with other people. Hardly can anyone deny the fact that socializing is an important aspect of every human being's life. What better topic to start a conversation than the events currently happening around the world? if your social partner knows about the event, you can sit and start talking about the effects and other aspects of the event, and If he doesn't, well, that's your chance to start describing that event passionately. I believe my opinion is greatly influenced by my personal experience. You see, a few years ago I had my university entrance exam and I was studying really hard for it, so hard that I could barely follow any news. I once went to a family gathering and I just sat down and looked at other people talking to each other. I had nothing to talk about to anyone. I haven't even seen most of those people for like a year. I was entirely silent and that was because I was not aware of anything happening around the world. It was one of the most boring gatherings that I went to. So as you can see, it is definitely better to know about the events around you.

Secondly, following the news helps you know where you stand in your career and life. We can not ignore the world around us and everything that is happening. If we don't know what's going on, we will most probably get lost in the paths we are taking. Knowledge about the events worldwide helps us understand the pace this world is moving at, so we can then adjust our speed if we are moving too slow, or too fast. We can even find out about new inventions that could facilitate our lives. Take old times for instance, where there was no source of news. People then would not know about new inventions that could ease their life, and although some places found something new to make life easier, some other's life would stay the same old-fashioned way. So obviously, knowing about the events around you is helpful.

I resist the temptation to explain more, hoping there is enough information already. To sum it up, following world news and knowledge about the events is beneficial. Because not only it will help you socialize with other people, it also helps you know where you stand in your life. I suggest everyone tries to follow at least a few news sources.