Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

There are many events currently happening around the world which are not related to our life. Some people find interest in those while others do not. In my view, we should know some of those events. I feel this for few reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, there are many people suffering because of war, disaster or disease. Even though these events may not affect our daily life, we should know about those to be aware of the suffering of the people around us. As we are living in a global village, all people on the earth are our neighbors. Restrictions like borders should not prevent us from helping the distressed human beings. For example, people in Syria are suffering for war and Rohingya people in Bangladesh are living their lives in lack of basic needs. We must help them to survive no matter which from country they belong or in which religion they believe; we are human beings and that should inspire us to feel the misery of those sorrow people. If we don’t know about their sufferings, how will we help them? So, for knowing the woe of the distressed people and for helping them, it is very important to know the events around us.

In addition to that, people need to be updated on the day to day events occurring around them. These events may not have any direct impact on them or their life but still, they should have known about those to stay updated. Moreover, our consciousness of those events makes us smarter than others who are not aware of those events. Additionally, if we are not aware of important incidents happening around us people may assume us as stupid or unsmart. My own life is a compelling example for this. For instance, in an undergrad class, I was asked about the candidates of the US presidential election 2016 but I could not answer that question as I did not like to read or watch news. That day I felt that some of my friends and my teacher perceived me as a stupid student. As a result, I was so embarrassed and since then I started to have an idea about the important events around the world. So, staying updated with some knowledge of crucial occurrences makes people smarter.

In a nutshell, all should try to know the events happening in their country or abroad. This is because it is necessary for helping the troubled people around the world and for staying smart by keeping ourselves updated.